Hit The Ground Runnin' - Control Yourself (CD)

Reference: 00380

new & sealed jewel case CD

- Re-Issue

- New Artwork

- 3 Bonus Tracks

- Previously unreleased song "Melva Devine"

- Remastered

release date & first day of shipping: May 19th, 2023

Label: Pride & Joy Music


The follow-up to the debut "Sudden Impact" (1989) of the Americans. Recorded in 1990/91 and released for the first time in 2001, this record is a rare player among fans and collectors. The melodic rock played by the six-piece is pretty much like stuff from the typical eighties action movies soundtracks. Even though the production is equal to current outputs, tracks like "Back Again", "Shanghaid" or "Still Life Lover" are simply cool. Comes with three bonus cuts (one unreleased track by the name of "Melva Devine" and two alternate versions from two songs of the album). Great, to still have those gems released again.


1. Control Yourself

2. Back Again

3. Shanghaid

4. Lost

5. Still Life Lover

6. Born To Be With You

7. Pain

8. Holding On

9. I.C.U.

10. Dirty Girl

11. Surrounded By Fire

12. Melva Devine (unreleased)

13. Pain (alternative version)

14. Back Again (lead guitar Alan Augunas)


Control Yourself was originally recorded between 1990-1991 as the intended follow-up release to Hit The Ground Runnin's debut album Sudden Impact. The band at this time was offered opportunities in TV/Film and the song Back Again was written and submitted to production for the movie Rocky V, and also Surrounded By Fire for the movie Backdraft. 

With a strong management and production team behind them; the band was able to secure a record deal with a major label, but with the changing musical trends of the early 90s the album was eventually shelved and the band soon moved forward to other projects. The album was first released to fans worldwide in 2001 on Smash Records. The original pressing has been a hard to find collectors item in the AOR music scene and fans have been asking for a much awaited re-release.

Much like the demand from the band's first successful release Sudden Impact (1989), Control Yourself is being offered this re-release on Pride & Joy Music with new artwork and 3 additional bonus tracks; one previously unreleased song Melva Devine, a demo of Back Again with original guitarist Alan Augunas and an alternative demo version of the song Pain. The album features a wide variety of professional high quality tracks in the Hard Rock, AOR genre.